Our first harvest

Quite unexpectedly, Andrew spotted a radish that looked ready to eat. 

He carefully extracted it from the soil and here it is: the first vegetable to be sown and harvested on the Quest for Veg plot.

Our first harvest was a small radish

Radish Scarlet Globe

We carefully carried this little jewel home to wash it and try it.

I should say at this point that neither Andrew nor I like radishes. I have wondered why we are growing so many. So we were a little bit apprehensive as we sliced into this tiny prize.

Let me tell you, my friends, it was absolutely delicious!

The gleaming, snowy flesh was moist and softly crunchy, the flavour subtle – smooth and creamy at first then gently peppery with vaguely citrus notes. Not at all like radishes as we remembered them.

We can’t wait for the next one!

4 thoughts on “Our first harvest

  1. Awesome stuff! Radishes were my first crop last year when I started and I was pleased as anything with my first harvest.
    Good luck with the rest of the year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

